« ПредишнаНапред »
duced. For Falconer's (the box book-keeper) benefit, June 24th, “Which is the Man?" by Mrs. Cowley, was played for the first time in twelve years: Simpson was the Lord Sparkle and Mrs. S. Wheatley, Lady Bell Bloomer. On her benefit night, June 26th, the name of “Mrs. Groshon" was first used in public by Mrs. Goldson. The season terminated July 27 with “Pizarro” and “The Highland Reel."
The yellow fever prevailing during the summer of 1822, the Park Theatre did not open at the usual time and its company came to this house, and appeared Sept. 9, 1822, with “The Spy” and “The Turnpike Gate.” They continued until Nov. 2. During the summer of 1825 “Tom and Jerry" had a long and successful run. This house became known as the Marine Theatre, and was afterwards occupied as a stable and known as Tattersall's. Equestrian performances were given during the winter of 1811–12. of the city was considered in those days almost out of town.
THE CHATHAM MUSEUM
HE Chatham Museum was located in Chatham Street, just
above Pearl, and was occupied by P. T. Barnum in April, 1841, just before he purchased Scudder's Museum. It had a brief and uninteresting existence.
THE ANTHONY STREET THEATRE
'HE Anthony Street Theatre was situated on Anthony (now
Christ Church afterwards stood. Twaits & Holland were the managers. They opened a season April 12th, 1813, with “The Midnight Hour, "The Weathercock," and "Three Weeks After Marriage." A large and excellent dramatic company was engaged.
Henry Placide, then only fourteen years of age, appeared here, this being his first appearance in this city, early in 1813, and remained for about one year. Shortly afterwards Jane Placide made her debut as a dancer. Mrs. Beaumont first appeared in New York April 25th, 1814, as Euphrasia in “The Grecian Daughter" and Roxalana in “The Sultan.”
W. Robertson acted Michael Ducas on May 9; Mr. Entwistle first appeared in this city May 13th as Tyke in “The School For Reform," and Crack in "The Turnpike Gate.” On May 20th “A Sicilian Romance” was presented, and Burgoyne's comedy, “Maid of the Oaks," was also given. Mr. Southey joined the company the 25th, as Sir Anthony Absolute in “The Rivals ” and Jerry Sneak in “The Mayor of Garrett.” Mr. and Miss Holman appeared June 1st as Lord and Lady Townly, in “The Provoked Husband. Beaumont played Rolla in “Pizarro" June 15th; “Know Your Own Mind” was done 22nd; and “The Tale of a Mystery" was also acted, with Twaits as Francisco, — his last appearance on the stage. He died Aug. 22nd, 1814. “Which is the Man?" was acted 29th, with Miss Cordell as Sophy Pendragon (her first appearance in this city). The first season closed July 4th, 1814, and the company moved to the circus, remaining there until Aug. 2oth, when that institution closed. It was reopened Aug. 29th, 1814, with “Bunker Hill" and "New York Volunteers. Mr. Doyle appeared as Gen. Putnam in the former play. Mr. Usher first appeared in New York Sept. 22nd as Richard III. The managers of the Park Theatre, immediately after the destruction of their own place, secured this house, which was opened by the Park company on May 29 with the drama of "Man and Wife" and the farce of “Too Late for Dinner.” Mlle. Adolphe, afterwards Mme. Blanchard, also appeared as a tight-rope dancer, and is said to have been the first woman to give such performances in America.
The season of 1819 opened July 12, when Wm. Leggett made his début as Charles Ratcliffe in “The Jew." The house was closed July 4th and reopened Sept. 2nd, 1820, as “The Pavilion Theatre."
The opening bill consisted of "Wives as they were, and Maids as they Are." H. J. Finn acted “Hamlet" 12. “Virginius, or the Liberation of Rome,” was seen for the first time in this city on the 25, with Maywood in the title rôle; Simpson as Icilius; Woodhull, Appius Claudius; Mrs. Barnes, Virginia; and Miss Denny, Servia. Henry Quatre” was seen for the first time in America Oct. 9; T. A. Cooper came Nov. 4, as Virginius. Mrs. Alsop's American début was made the 20 as Violante in “The Wonder;" “The Vampire” was acted for the first time in New York, 22. Edmund Kean first played in America 29 at this house as Richard III. During his engagement the receipts averaged $1000 a night, a large sum at that time. George F. Smith made his début Jan. 5th, 1821, as Young Norval in Douglas.” Jefferson appeared Feb. 4th as Bob Acres in “The Rivals. Mrs. Battersby made her début 28th as Julianna in “The Honeymoon.” Mrs. Battersby became Mrs. J. Stickney in 1826, and afterwards returned to England, where she died. Edmund Kean reappeared March 13th, as Hamlet.
“The Jew of Malta" was presented for the first time in America March 26th, with Kean as Barabbas. Kean acted Lear 27th, and Jaffier in "Venice Preserved " April 6th. “The Warlock of the Glen” was played, for the first time in New York, 9th; "Mirandola” was given 25th; "Therese, the Orphan of Geneva," was first presented in New York at this theatre on April 30th, and here
Henry Wallack, brother of James W. Wallack, made his initial bow to an American audience, appearing as Young Norval in “Douglas” and Master Walter in "The Hunchback.” “The Heir of Avenel, or Mary of Scotland,” was played May 18th. The last performance in this theatre was given on July 6th, 1821. The building was torn down and Christ Episcopal Church erected on its site.
'HE house known as Peale's Museum was located on Broad
way, opposite the City Hall. After Mr. Peale had retired from the management, George H. (" Yankee ") Hill became its lessee, and in a short time he was succeeded by Henry Bennett, whose proprietorship ceased on Jan. 2nd, 1843, when Barnum leased the house. This was done sub rosa, and Mr. Barnum, hiring Mr. Bennett and assigning to him the management, ran the upper Museum as a rival to his lower one.
CHATHAM GARDEN AND THEATRE
HE Chatham Garden and Theatre was located on the north
side of Chatham Street between Duane and Pearl Streets, running through to Augustus St. (now known as City Hall Place). The entrance was through private buildings on the west side of Chatham Street, somewhere between the present Nos. 80 and 90, but the grounds extended to City Hall Place.
During the summer of 1822 H. Barriere gave musical entertainments here. The place was the resort of the beauty and fashion of New York, and as highly esteemed as Niblo's Garden subsequently was in the zenith of its popularity. It had a rural saloon, used for concerts and light dramatic pieces. During the summer of 1823 it was known as the Pavilion Theatre. Arthur Keene first acted here July 10th, 1823, in the “Wedding Day” and “The Poor Soldier. The cast of the former play is here given: Lord Rakeland Mr. Nicholls | Lady Autumn .
Mrs. Allen Sir Adam Contest
Mr. Phillips Mrs. Hamford . Mrs. Brundage Mr. Milden. Mr. Monier Hannah .
Miss E. Placide Lady Contest
After the comedy a hornpipe was danced by Mr. Durang, and a comic song was sung by Mr. Hyatt. In “Thé Poor Soldier" Mr. Keene played Patrick and sang “The Troubadour," and "Cushla Machree." The admission was 25 cts. to all parts of the house. So great was the success of this place that a permanent theatre was erected, which opened May 17, 1824, called the Chatham Garden
Theatre. “The Soldier's Daughter” and “Raising the Wind” were the opening bill. Thomas Kilner, Henry Wallack, Geo. Barrett, Spiller, Alex. Simpson, Thomas Burke, W. Robertson, Moreland, Stone, Somerville, Allen, Anderson, Williamson, J. Jefferson, Jr. (the father of “Rip Van Winkle" Jefferson), Č. Durang, Mmes. Entwistle, Henry, Waring, Walstein, and the Misses P. M. Clarke and Olliff formed the company. The dedicatory bill included an opening address, delivered by Mrs. Entwistle, formerly Mrs. Mason of the Park Theatre.
THE SOLDIER'S DAUGHTER.
Mrs. Entwistle Malfort Sr.. Mr. Allen Mrs. Malfort
Mrs. Durang Malfort Jr. Mr. Moreland Mrs. Fidget
Mrs. Walstein Woodley
J. Jefferson, Jr. Mrs. Henry Wallack made her first appearance in this city May 25th in “Town and Country." Mrs. Alex. Drake, formerly Miss Denny, made her début here June 25th, and William Rufus Blake made his bow at this theatre July 8th as Frederick in the “ Poor Gentleman."
Mary Ann Russell first appeared on any stage July 5th as the Page in “The Purse." She was born in Philadelphia, Pa., in 1818. “The Venetian,” “Harvest Home,” “Rebel of '98," and 'Mary Tudor" were plays written expressly for her, and up to the present date have never been acted by any one else. She married George Percy Farren, who died in this city in Aug., 1861. As Mrs. M. A. Farren, she became one of the most popular actresses of the day. She was one of the projectors and members of the J. W. Wallack-E. L. Davenport and Farren combination who toured this country for many years.
She was playing Mother Frochard in "The Two Orphans" at the Brooklyn Theatre at the time of the destruction of that house by fire Dec. 5th, 1876. She died in New York April 27th, 1894, aged 76 years.
"Twelfth Night " was done Aug. ioth, for the first time in this city in many years. On the occasion of Gen. Lafayette's visit to America he honored this theatre with his presence Sept. ist. Mr. and Mrs. Palmer Fisher and their daughter Alexina were added to the company on Sept. 6th. Francis Courtney Wemyss made his New York début here Sept. 20, 1824, appearing as Marplot in “The Busy Body.” Thomas Burke played Sir Francis Gripe, James W. Wallack was Sir George Airy, and Mrs. Hughes, Miranda. During the season Mr. Wemyss played Mathew Sharpset in “ The Slave,” Vapid in “The Dramatist,” Rover in “Wild Oats,” Florian in “The Foundling of the Forest,” Young Rapid in “A Cure for the Heartache,” Tom Shuffleton in “ John Bull,"
Belmour in "Is He Jealous?” Wildlove in “The Lady and the Devil," Belcour in "The West Indian," and Corinthian Tom in “Tom and Jerry.' Mr. Wemyss afterwards became a manager of Pittsburg and Philadelphia theatres. He wrote a book called “Twenty-six Years of the Life of an Actor and Manager," and also compiled a “Chronology of the American Stage.” He died in New York Jan. 5, 1859. He was one of the prime movers in establishing the American Dramatic Fund Association, of which he was secretary for a long time. His last "act” for the drama was on the occasion of the Mt. Vernon testimonial in this city, just prior to his death, when he officiated as stage manager. He was a gay, dashing, and spirited actor, with all the attributes of a polished and gentlemanly deportment, of what may be called the drawingroom light comedian style of the old English day.
“Married and Single” was seen for the first time in New York Oct. 18th. “Retribution, or The Diamond Cross," was given Nov. 4th. The opera of “The Sawmill” was first sung in this city on Nov. 29th, and a comedy called “Woman's Will a Riddle” was produced Dec. 17th.
The first season terminated Feb. 28. The next season opened May 9th, 1825, with the New York début of James M. Scott as Rolla in “ Pizarro," Mrs. Hughes being the Cora, and Mrs. Entwistle, Elvira; Messrs. Wallack, Burroughs, Scott, Young, Duff, Roberts, Thayer, Conway, Simpson, Robertson, Stevenson, Walstein, Anderson, Carr, Durang, Somerville, Petrie, Allen, Blake, Byers, Mesdames Entwistle, Duff, Waring, Wallack, Walstein, Hughes, Roberts, Conway, Fisher, Stevenson, Allen, and the Misses Fisher forming the company.
Oceana Fisher appeared here 28th, and Mrs. Frederick Brown, formerly Miss De Camp, was seen 30th as Paul in "The Wandering Boys.” She died in Mobile, Ala., in October, 1841. Miss Riddle first played in this city Sept. 13th as Emily Worthington in “The Poor Gentleman.” As Mrs. W. H. Smith, this lady took her farewell of the stage Feb. ist, 1861, in Boston, and died in this city Sept. 25th, 1861. Her daughter is now known in the profession as Mrs. Sol Smith.
This house now became a formidable rival to the Park Theatre. The character of "Brother Jonathan " was first introduced in a drama called “The Forest Rose, or the American Farmer, brought out here Oct. 6th, 1825. Robert Maywood first appeared here Oct. 1oth as Shylock. The season closed Feb. 18th, 1826. Mr. Barriere, the proprietor, died Feb. 21st. The theatre was sold at auction March 15th, 1826, and realized $4,500. After the death of Mr. Barriere the lease was transferred to Henry Wallack, who reopened the house March 20th, 1826. “ Castle of Andalusia” was a notable production on April 14th; “Love and