« ПредишнаНапред »
erected by Wyatt in 1783—a dark age for church fifteenth century. It has several richly-traceried architecture—but has since been rendered more windows filled with stained glass, including a suitable for Christian worship, having been enlarged splendid wheel-window fifteen feet in diameter. about the year 1850, and altered to the Early Messrs. Hodge and Butler were the architects. Decorated style, from the designs of Mr. Bar- In Fortess Place is the Roman Catholic Chapel tholomew. It has two lofty steeples, and a large of St. Mary. A mission chapel was built in the painted window at the eastern end; the altar recess Highgate Road in 1847, and a schoolroom attached has some elaborate carved work. In this church to it. In 1854 the chapel was, however, closed is buried Grignion, the engraver.
by order of the diocesan, and from that time
In 1841, at which time the population of for several months the Passionist Fathers from Kentish Town numbered upwards of 10,000, there The Hyde served the place. In 1855 a piece of was only one place of worship belonging to the freehold ground was purchased (funds being proEstablished Church ; the erection of a new church vided by Cardinal Wiseman), and three cottages was proposed and erected upon the estate of which stood upon the land were converted into a Brookfield, the greater part of which is in the temporary chapel, capable of accommodating about hamlet of Kentish Town, and the remainder in the 200 persons. The new church, which is in the adjoining chapelry of Highgate. The building is Gothic style, has since been erected in its place. erected in the Early English style, and has a fine The historical memorabilia of Kentish Town, tall spire ; some of the windows are enriched with we need scarcely remark, are comparatively very painted glass. The site of the church was given scanty. We are told how that William Bruges, by the proprietor of the ground whereon it stands, Garter King-at-Arms in the reign of Henry V., had Lady Burdett-Coutts gave the peal of bells, and a country-house here, at which he entertained the other grants were made towards the fabric.
German Emperor, Sigismund, who visited England In 1848 a large Congregational chapel was built in 1416, to promote a negotiation for peace with here, in the ecclesiastical style of architecture of the France. This is literally all the figure that it acts
in history down to quite recent times, when we evening during the said winter season, from which incidentally learn that the Prince Regent was places, at the above hours, all passengers will be nearly meeting with a serious accident here, in conducted without fee or reward." December, 1813, through a dense fog, which would Kentish Town, in the middle of the last century, not yield even to royalty. On his way to pay a could boast of its Assembly Rooms, at which the visit to the Marquis of Salisbury, at Hatfield House, balls were sufficiently attractive to draw persons Herts, the Prince was obliged to return to Carlton from all parts of the neighbourhood of London. House, after one of his outriders had fallen into a In fact, it became a second “ Almack's "*—in its ditch at the entrance of Kentish Town, which at way, of course. It was a large wooden building, that time was not lit with gas, and probably not and stood at the angle of the main road, where the even with oil.
Highgate and Holloway Roads meet, and on gala The road through this district, however, even nights it was lighted up with numberless lamps. when no fog prevailed, does not seem to have been In 1788 the house was taken by a person named very safe for wayfarers after dark, in former times, Wood, who issued the following advertisement : if we may judge from the numerous notices of out- “Thomas Wood begs leave to inform his friends rages which appear in the papers of the times, of and the publick in general, that he has laid in a which the following may be taken as a sample - choice assortment of wines, spirits, and liquors,
The London Courant, August 8, 1751, contains together with mild ales and cyder of the best the following :-"On Sunday night, August 5th, quality, all of which he is determined to sell on the 1751, as Mr. Rainsforth and his daughter, of Clare most valuable terms. Dinners for public societies Street, Clare Market, were returning home through or private parties dressed on the shortest notice. Kentish Town, about eight o'clock, they were Tea, coffee, &c., morning and evening. A good attacked by three footpads, and after being brutally trap-ball ground, skittle ground, pleasant summerill-used, Mr. R. was robbed of his watch and house, extensive garden, and every other accommoney."
modation for the convenience of those who may A few years later, the following paragraph ap- think proper to make an excursion to the above peared in the Morning Chronicle (January 9, 1773): house during the summer months. A good ordi-"On Thursday night some villains robbed the nary on Sundays at two o'clock.” Kentish Town stage, and stripped the passengers By the side of the roadway, facing the old of their money, watches, and buckles. In the Assembly Rooms, was an elm-tree, beneath whose hurry they spared the pockets of Mr. Corbyn, the spreading branches was an oval-shaped marbledruggist; but he, content to have neighbours' fare, topped table, the edge of which was surrounded called out to one of the rogues, “Stop, friend ! you with the following inscription :-“Posuit A.D. 1725 have forgot to take my money.'”
in Memoriam Sanitatis Restauratæ ROBERTUS The result of these continual outrages was that Wright, Gent." The old tree was struck by the inhabitants of the district resolved upon adopt- lightning in 1849. ing some means for their protection, as was notified A little farther from town, in or about the year by the following announcement in the newspapers : 1858, some gardens were opened as a place of —“The inhabitants of Kentish Town, and other public amusement on the Highgate Road, near places between there and London, have entered the foot of Highgate Rise. But the place was not into a voluntary subscription for the support of a very respectably conducted, and after a run of guard or patrol to protect foot-passengers to and about a year the gardens were closed, the magisfrom each place during the winter season (that is trates refusing a spirit licence to the proprietor, a to say) from to-morrow, being old Michaelmas Mr. Weston, the owner of a music-hall in Holborn. Day, to old Lady Day next, in the following In 1833 races were held at Kentish Town, the manner, viz. :—That a guard of two men, well particulars of which, as they appeared in the Daily armed, will set out tomorrow, at six o'clock in the Postboy, are reprinted in Mr. Palmer's “ History of evening, from Mr. Lander's, the 'Bull,' in Kentish St. Pancras." These races in their day drew as Town, and go from thence to Mr. Gould's, the much attention as did Epsom then, but all memory "Coach and Horses,' facing the Foundling Hospital of them has long passed away. There was also at gate, in Red Lion Street, London; and at seven one time established here a society or club, known will return from thence back to the ‘ Bull;' at eight as “The Corporation of Kentish Town,” an instiwill set out again from the ‘Bull' to the ‘Coach tution, there is little doubt, much on a par with and Horses,' and at nine will return from thence to the ‘Bull' again ; and will so continue to do every
• See Vol. IV., p. 197.
THE “CASTLE” TAVERN.
that which we have already described as existing at tions. He was entrusted with the management of “The Harp," in Russell Street, Covent Garden, the design, and the receipt of subscriptions, which which is denominated “The Corporation of the flowed in largely; and he insured the house for City of Lushington.”* The club is referred to in £4,000. Circumstances having occurred to show the following announcements which appear in the that the destruction of the building was not caused newspapers of the period :
by accident, suspicion fastened upon Mr. Lowe; The Officers and Aldermen of the Corporation of Kentish but before he could be secured and brought to Town are desired to attend the next day of meeting, at Two justice, he put an end to his life by poison. o'clock, at Brother Legg's, the “Parrot,” in Green Arbour Among the “worthies” of Kentish Town we Court, in the Little Old Baily, in order to pay a visit to the
may mention Dr. William Stukeley, the celebrated Corporation of Stroud Green, now held at the Hole in the antiquary, who formerly lived here. We shall have Wall" at Islington; and from thence to return in the evening to Brother Lamb's in Little Shear Lane, near Temple Bar, occasion to mention him again when we reach St. to which house the said Corporation have adjourned for the Pancras. He was called by his friends "the winter season.
Arch-Druid,” and over the door of his villa a By order of the Court,
friend caused to be written the following lines :T. L., Recorder. October 1, 1754.
“Me dulcis saturet quies, CORPORATION OF KENTISh Town, 1756.
Obscuro positus loco,
Leni perfruar otio,
Oh, may this rural solitude receive in Fleet Street, precisely at Two o'clock, in order to go in a
And contemplation all its pleasures give body to Mr. Peter Brabant's, the “Roman Eagle,” in Church
The Druid priest.” Street, Deptford, to pay a visit to our Right Worshipful The word “ Chyndonax ” is an allusion to an urn Mayor who now resides in that town. By order of the Court,
of glass so inscribed in France, in which the
J. J., Recorder. doctor believed were contained the ashes of an The Company of the Aldermen of Stroud Green, the Arch-Druid of that name, whose portrait forms the Loyal Regiment of British Hussars, and the Brethren of the frontispiece to his work on Stonehenge. Dr. Most Antient and Noble Order of Bucks, will be esteem'd a Stukeley's reputation, however, as an antiquary is great favour.
not great at the present day, as he has been proved The “Castle” Tavern, in Kentish Town Road, by Mr. B. B. Woodward, in the Gentleman's stands upon the site of an older house bearing the Magazine, to have been equally credulous and same sign, which had the reputation—true or superficial. false-of dating its origin from the time of King Here, too, lived an eccentric old bachelor and John. The front of the old building had the miser, Mr. John Little, at whose sudden death, familiar and picturesque projecting storeys, sup- intestate, in 1798, about £37,000 of property, ported originally by a narrow pier at the side of 173 pairs of breeches, and 180 old wigs were a bolder one. The interior of one of the rooms found in a miserably furnished apartment which he had a fireplace of stone, carved with a flattened allowed no one to enter. These and his wealth arch of the Tudor style, with the spandrils enriched all passed to a brother whom he had discarded, with a rose and a leaf-shaped ornament terminating and whom he had meant to disinherit had not in a snake's tail. This fireplace had been for years death prevented him. hidden from view by a coat of plaster. It is pos- It is generally said that Charles Mathews the sible that, in their ignorance of Gothic architecture, elder was a resident in Kentish Town ; but his the good people of Kentish Town ascribed a Tudor home, Ivy Cottage, was in Millfield Lane, in the arch to the early part of the thirteenth century. hamlet of Brookfield, of which, as well as of St.
Another old building at Kentish Town was the Anne's Church, Brookfield, it will be more conEmanuel Hospital, an establishment for the re- venient to treat in our notice of Highgate. At ception of the blind, which was burnt down in present we have no intention to climb the breezy 1779. The house had been purchased by a Mr. “northern heights of London." Lowe, who was one of the chief promoters of the At No. 8, in Lower Craven Place, lived, for charity, and who took every possible method to some time, Douglas Jerrold. He afterwards reforward the establishment and procure subscrip- moved to Kilburn, where he died in June, 1857.7
One of the peculiarities of this district, and one petent to his duties. Whether these gentlemen, which it retained down to a very recent date, was comparing the merits of Monsieur St. Bel with the its slate pavement. It certainly, on fine days, ordinary farriers, imagined consummate skill in the looked very clean, and was pleasant to the tread; profession not necessary to the success of this new but in wet and frosty weather it became slippery enterprise, we will not determine ; but it is certain, and dangerous in the extreme. It has now been however ingenious he might be in shoeing and in superseded by the ordinary pavement of stone-flags. the inferior branches, with the pharmaceutic art, or
During the last few years the green fields which that which respects the healing the diseases of the fringed one side of the road at Kentish Town have animal, he was wholly unacquainted. In August, passed away, and unbroken lines of streets connect 1793, Monsieur St. Bel died, and it is probable it with the Holloway Road. Many new churches that the fatal event was accelerated by the disand chapels have been erected, and the once rural appointment he felt at the ill success of the estabvillage now forms, like Camden and Somers Town, lishment he conducted. but a portion of the great metropolis.
“In the time of Monsieur St. Bel a house was Great College Street, by which we return to the taken at Pancras for the purposes of the instieastern side of Camden Town, in the direction of tution. Since his decease the professorship has old St. Pancras Church, is so named from the devolved to Mr. Coleman, and a handsome theatre Royal Veterinary College, which covers a large has been prepared, with a museum and dissecting space of ground on its eastern side. This institu- rooms for the use of the pupils, and for their tion was established in 1791, with the view of examination ; and for other purposes a medical promoting a reformation in that particular branch committee has been appointed, comprising Dr. of veterinary science called “farriery,” by the Fordyce, Dr. Bailie, Dr. Babington, Dr. Relp, Mr. formation of a school, in which the anatomical Cline, Mr. Abernethy, Mr. A. Cooper, Mr. Home, structure of quadrupeds of all kinds, horses, cattle, and Mr. Houlstone. sheep, dogs, &c., the diseases to which they are “In consequence of the new regulations pupils subject, and the remedies proper to be applied, are admitted for the sum of twenty guineas, and should be investigated and regularly taught. Of they are accommodated in the college with board the foundation of this institution we gather the or otherwise, according to their own convenience. following particulars from the Monthly Register of For this sum they see the practice of the college, 1802 :—“To the agricultural societies in different and by the liberality of the medical committee are parts of this kingdom the public is greatly indebted. admitted to the lectures of those who compose it It will be matter of surprise to men of thought, gratis; and in the army the veterinary surgeons are that the improvements in the veterinary art, instead advanced to the rank of commissioned officers, by of originating with the military establishment to which condescension of the commander-in-chief which it is so important for the benefit of the the regiments of English cavalry have, for the first cavalry, has been chiefly promoted by an obscure time, obtained the assistance of gentlemen eduassociation at Odiham, in Hampshire, which enter- cated in a way to discharge the important duties of tain the design of sending two young men of talents their situations.” into France, to become students in this new pro- The Duke of Northumberland was the first fession. Monsieur St. Bel, in the year 1788, was president of the college. A school for the instrucdriven from that country, either from his own tion of pupils in veterinary science is carried on pecuniary embarrassments, or by the internal dis- under the direction of a duly-qualified professor ; organisation which then prevailed. He offered his and diseased horses are admitted upon certain services to this society, in consequence of which terms into the infirmary. Such is thought to be the college was instituted, and he was nominated the national importance of this institution, that to superintend it, and some noblemen and gentle Parliament has liberally afforded aid when the state men of the highest rank and consideration in the of the college's finances rendered a supply essential. country were appointed as managers of the under- Lectures are delivered daily in the theatre of the taking. Monsieur St. Bel, possessing, however, college during the session, which commences in many excellent qualities, was not precisely suited October and ends in May; to these only students to his situation ; his private difficulties impeded his are admitted. The fee for pupils is twenty-five public exertions. In 1792, to ascertain his ability guineas, which entitles them to attend the lectures to discharge the duties of his situation, he was and general practical instructions of the college examined by Sir George Baker and several other until they shall have passed their examination. physicians and surgeons, and was considered com- On Tuesday evenings there are discussions on