Графични страници
PDF файл
ePub

Bay Ridge division of the Long Island railroad, a good frame depot is maintained. North of this is Kensington, which has a frame depot-well arranged and furnished-of recent construction. The Prospect Park depot, a fine brick building and covered train-shed is kept in excellent order. At Kensington Junction, an interlocking switch and signal device with its tower and switching levers has been erected. The new double-track branch from this point to city line, one and one-quarter miles in length, connects with the Brooklyn, Bath and West End railroad whose road is then used jointly for one-third of a mile and thence a quarter of a mile into the union depot yard, at Fifth avenue and Thirty-sixth street, Brooklyn. This terminal is particularly noted in report on West End road. Towers and interlocking switch and signal systems are used at the junction with West End road and in Union yard. The superstructure has been fully ballasted and is in excellent adjustment and roadway well fenced, and is clean and orderly. The single-track branch from Coney Island depot (double track so far as used by West End road), to Coney Island point, two and onehalf miles in length, is the same as noted in previous reports. Its sleepers are in fair life and the road, depot and landing at the Point are kept in good repair. Commendable care is taken with the equipment of the road. All of the cars have been renovated, and trucks, air brakes and the like, thoroughly repaired or renewed. This work is done at the shops located at Coney Island. A machine shop is located at Prospect Park where the engines have been overhauled during the past winter. In all respects the property is well kept up and in strong condition.

ROCHESTER AND GLEN HAVEN RAILROAD,

(Three-feet gauge.) A newly-built narrow-gauge road, three and one-half miles in length, between Rochester and Glen Haven, a summer resort on Irondequoit bay, The roadway is generally fifty feet wide, nearly all of which is enclosed with wire fencing. The maximum grade is, for a short distance only, 175 feet per mile; generally the grades are favorable and alignment quite easy. The track is laid with fifty-six pounds per yard steel rail with angle-bar fastenings. The sleepers are oak and chestnut, spaced about 2,600 per mile. The road-bed is thinly ballasted, but the track adjustment is very good. The ditching of road-bed is not fully done, especially at a point under an overhead bridge and in a cutting. There are no truss bridges. The openings in road-bed consist of trestle bents with plank lagging for abutments, all of hemlock and white pine of ample size for stringers. There are six of these openings from ten to twelve feet in width and a smaller waterway with docking support. Each of these openings are in strong life.

A good frame depot with covered platforms has been built at Rochester. It is well furnished and yard divided with fencing for speedy handling of passengers. There is a small frame depot, or, more properly, covered platform, at Glen Haven. As a whole the road is fairly constructed. It is only operated during the summer months.

SCHOHARIE VALLEY RAILROAD. This single-track line, four and one-half miles in length, is operated closely, in connection with the Middleburgh and Schoharie railroad, using the same passenger car and locomotive. There is but one truss bridge, which crosses Fox creek. It is a through Howe truss of 120-feet span and well covered. The timber is in good life, but the bridge has been subjected to severe usage. The north abutment was undermined a few years ago and fell into bed of stream, carrying the end of bridge with it. The bridge was raised, the abutment rebuilt and recently has settled about nine inches. The bridge has been again raised and rests on blocking, The masonry is to be built up to proper level of bridge seat. Notwithstanding these mishaps the trusses appear in good condition. Near Schoharie is a plate-deck girder of twenty-feet span, the south abutment of which leans in badly and should be rebuilt, also a stronger floor system is sug. gested. South of Fox creek is a similar girder of fifteen-feet span. It has dry-rubble masonry abutments in medium condition - a stronger floor system appears necessary. North of Fox creek is another like girder of: thirty-feet span with fair, dry-masonry abutments. Near the turnpike is six-feet span waterway, having a poor floor. The above are all the openings in road-bed. About one-half mile of the original iron rail of fortyfive pounds per yard section adjoins Schoharie Junction, and at Schoharie the main track and sidings are of like rail. This rail with switches and crossing plates are much worn and a renewal is necessary. About fifteen tons of new rail has been laid each year for the past few years but the renewal has not kept pace with the wear of the light iron. The sleepers as a whole are too much depreciated. . A rough estimate and examination gave every third tie, of itself incompetent to properly hold track in gauge. The surface and line of track is quite ordinary, and track filled between rails with grass. Little attention is given to weeds and underbrush, and much of the line is not properly fenced. Within & short time the depots at Schoharie Junction and Schoharie have been renovated and painted. A comparatively small outlay would improve the physical condition of this property to at least an equality with the average roads in the State.

SEA VIEW ELEVATED RAILROAD. Early in the past winter an examination, at the request of the company, was made of this road. It was done with the view of making such repairs as would enable the company to operate the road without the entire rebuilding of the larger portion of the line, and which is constructed of timber. At the easterly end, the terminal and several hundred feet of the road is elevated on spruce piling. The same construction exists from the east side of the over-crossing of the Prospect Park and Coney Island railroad for several hundred feet easterly: There is probably 1,500 feet of road elevated on yellow pine bents between the pile work, and a few hundred feet at the westerly terminal. Crossing the Prospect Park and Coney Island road is an iron viaduct. Over an avenue are two 100-feet spans of pin-connected iron through bridges, elevated on iron bents. The road is double tracked, has light equipment and is operated only during the summer months. Early in the spring of 1889 an examination of the piling was made, and they were found seriously decayed at surface of ground. Suggestions by officers of the company, to splice the piles at the ground surface by boxing with oak plank sufficiently above and below point of decay, and securely spiking the planking or boxing to the piles and filling the intricacies with Portland cement, were accepted, and when done were examined by Bridge Engineer C. F. Stowell, and afterwards by your inspector. By letter dated July 15, 1889, and after the above last two examinations were made, the president, Mr. F. S. Schroeder, certified as to the stability of the pile work under method of repair adopted. In the spring of 1890 another inspection was made, and

the piling which is in all about 1,500 feet in length was found in à condition that might warrant its use for that season, but was coupled with the suggestion that it should be renewed another (i. e., last) winter. On the examination of the girders, caps and adjustment of truss-rods made early last winter, it was found that some new track stringers were necessary, and that many of the truss-rods were loose. These repairs have been made and at date of this last inspection the superstructure is as a whole in just fair condition. The yellow-pine bent supports are in like life of timber and will answer to use this (1891) year. The spruce piling, however, has serious defects, that for safety can not be overlooked. In pearly all of the pile bents, the bottoms of which have been spliced or boxed, the decay has risen to the top of the boxing and in a number of piles, there is little sound timber left at that point. All of them are sap, rotten the entire length of those originally driven. The bents are stayed vertically, laterally and longitudinally, but there is great risk of crushing at point of extreme decay, besides the old piles may have other overdecayed spots, near their tops. In view of these făcts your inspector respectfully suggests that the piles which are decayed be replaced and that this coming winter all the pile work be rebuilt, or if possible yellowpine bents be substituted. A further renewal of stringers and corbells, and a large number of cross-ties will be necessary before another year's use of the road.

FLATBUSH, N. Y., May 4, 1891. Mr. WM. C. HUDSON, Secretary Board of Railroad Commissioners, Albany, N. Y.;

DEAR SIR.--- Mr. F. A. Schroeder, president, directs me to advise you that your esteemed favor of April 27 has been received, and that the recommendations of the Board therein stated will have our immediate attention.

Yours respectfully,
J. L, MORROW,

Superintendent and Secretary.

[ocr errors]

STERLING MOUNTAIN RAILROAD. A single-track road, seven and one-half miles in length, from a junction with the New York, Lake Erie and Western railroad to Lakeville and the Sterling Iron Mines. It is only used for transporting iron ore and mine material, all use of line for excursions having been discontinued. The maximum grade ascending is 200 feet, and descending, 100 feet per mile. The extreme of curvature is 950 feet radius. There are no truss-bridges, and but few openings in road-bed. There are eight single spans, from three to twelve feet wide, all having dry-rubble masonry abutments. Some of these have too old stringers. Five trestle-bridges of about eight feet spans, and two to three bays each, constitutes the trestle work. Some of these need, in part, renewal. The rail is steel, in good condition, and sleepers in medium life as a whole. Three thousand new ties will be used this year. About one-half were in track at time of inspection, and with the remainder in place, the sleepers will probably be in fair condition. A like number another year is suggested. The track is very well adjusted. At Sterling Mines a long trestle has been filled, except two bays over entrance to a shaft, formerly abandoned but now in use. The shops and plant generally at the mines are being put in good repair, and the property, both mine and railroad, shows a better maintenance than when last examined. On the lands of the company and at other points are highway crossings at which there are no warning signs. The company have no depots for railroad purposes.

NEW YORK, September 18, 1891. Hon. WILLIAM C. HUDSON,

Secretary Board of Railroad Commissioners, Albany, N. Y. DEAR SIR.- On my return to the city this morning I find your favor of September 5th, inclosing report of Mr. T. W. Spencer, yourinspector, on the Sterling Mountain Railroad.

I am gratified that Mr. Spencer notes improvements in the condition of the property. We fully concur with Mr. Spencarin the necessity of the improvements which he recommends. Most of them have already been made, and the remainder will be made es soon as possible.

Very truly yours,
MACGRANE COXE,

President. $Tony CLOVE AND CATSKILL Mountain RAILROAD.

(Three-feet gauge.) A narrow-gauge road between Phænicia and Hunter, fourteen and onehalf miles in length. There are no changes of moment in the condition of the road since the inspection of 1889. The truss bridges and their substructures were examined and each found in very good condition, except one or two, which have too old floor beams. The timber has been painted, after removing the decayed sapwood. They are built of yellow pine. Nearly all the small open drains crossing the road-bed have been filled, after constructing stone culverts or inserting iron pipe, largely the latter. The sleepers have been well renewed and track carefully readjusted, especially north of the Summit. Where the road passes through cultivated lands, the roadway is neatly cleared of weeds and underbrush. Chichester is a newly located station and a small but suitable frame depot has been erected. The station building at Lamsonville has been repainted. The depot at Hunter is in good order and neatly kept. As a whole, the property is in rather better condition then when last examined.

WELLSVILLE, COUDERSPORT AND PINE CREEK RAILROAD, A newly constructed standard-gauge road, in operation about one year. It connects with the Erie railroad at Wellsville and runs southerly along the valley of Genesee river to the Pennsylvania State Line, a distance of ten miles. It is laid with steel rails of sixty-three pounds per yard, fastened with angle-bar connections. The sleepers are hemlock and spaced about 2,600 per mile. There are no trusses, but there is considerable trestle and pile bridging. Of these, there are thirty from one to sixteen bays each and from four to sixteen-feet spans, aggregating 1,400 feet in length. They are all new and have mostly hemlock bents and oak piles. Many have hemlock stringers, which, with those of pine, consist of three strands, four by sixteen inches section, under each rail. The long spans have corbells in addition. A few of these bridges are of pine and all have good floors. There is no masonry of moment. The track is in fair adjustment and cuttings fairly drained. The roadway is properly fenced for most of its length, and road-bed has a light ballasting of gravel. A small frame depot has been built at Wellsville and Shongo. The depot at south end of road is in Pennsylvania. The roadway averages sixty-six feet in width, the grades are light and the curvature for the most part quite easy.

MINUTES OF THE BOARD.

REPORTED IN PURSUANCE OF SECTIONS 155 AND 158 OF CHAPTER

565, LAWS OF 1890.

JULY 7, 1890.
The Board met pursuant to adjournment.
The minutes of the last meeting were read and approved.
The Secretary submitted the unfinished business, under the rule, as follows:

Letter of J. M. Butler, president Brooklyn, Bath and West End Railroad Company, relative to complaint of citizens of Blythebourne, L, I. Ordered usual course.

Letter of Albert Allen, superintendent Elmira, Cortland and Northern Railroad Company, relative to bridge over Newtown creek. Ordered letter sent as dictated.

Leiter of Charles P. Clarke, president New York, New Haven and Hartford railroad, relative to complaint of Messrs. Abbott and Lyon. Ordered case referred to Commissioner Rogers.

Letter of W. H. Dykman, relative to change of motive power of Coney Island and Brooklyn Railroad Company; also telegram from same relative to meeting of Board. Ordered answered, July 8th, up to 12 P. M., and July 14th, after 2 P. M. Letter of Reuben E. Roble, relative to complaint of lack of fencing on Kanons and Prattsburgh railroad. Ordered letter sent as dictated.

Letter of Livingston Crosby, Delaware and Hudson Canal Company, relative to complaint of R. L. Banks. Ordered filed.

NEW BUSINESS. Letter of J. S. Rowland, inclosing complaint of travelers at Locust avenue station against Long Island Railroad Company. Ordered usual course.

Letter of G. T. Rogers, Binghamton Street railroad, relative to report. Ordered letter sent as dictated. Letter

of W. Abbott, relative to Commission Bill before Legislature. Ordered letter sent as dictated.

Letter of D. 8. 8. Sammis, relative to reports by Babylon Horse Railroad Company, Ordered that he be written that Board has no power under the law to exempt such road from making reports.

Letter of P. Richards, complaining against whistling of engines on Syracuse, Geneva and Corning railroad. Ordered usual course. Letters of Thomas W. Spencer, inspector, received and read before Board.

Letter of Charles B. Fairchild, relative to law on the subject of couplers. Ordered letter sent as dictated. The Board adjourned until Tuesday, July 8th, at 10 A, M.

JULY 8, 1890. The Board met pursuant to adjournment. Mr. A. T. Britton, reprosenting the Coney Island and Brooklyn Railroad Company, appeared relative to charge of motive power by that company.

The Secretary submitted the answer of the Delaware and Áudson Canal Company to complaint of R. L. Banks, relative to the Glens Falls branch of said company. Ordered usual course, and that Mr. Banks be written as dictated.

Letter of Thomas Fitzgerald, complaining against the New York, Lake Erie and Western railroad as to sale of tickets. Mr. Fitzgerald appeared and made affidavit to the facts. Ordered copy of affidavit and letter as dictated be sent to John King, president.

Letter from Thomas W. Spencer, inspector, was read.

Commissioner Rogers submitted a report as to the Buffalo Street railroad change of motive power. Adopted and ordered issued.

[ocr errors]
« ПредишнаНапред »