« ПредишнаНапред »
VISITORS TO PLYMOUTH VILLAGE:
A LITHOGRAPHIC MAP,
SEVEN COPPERPLATE ENGRAVINGS.
By WM. S. RUSSELL,
RECORDING SECRETARY OF THE PILGRIM SOCIETY.
Yea, when the frowning bulwarks
That guard this holy strand
In beds of sparkling sand,
One hoary rock shall stand,
Oliver Wendell Holmes..
Entered according to Act of Congress, in the year 1851,
By WM. S. RUSSELL, In the Clerk's Office of the District Court of the District of Massachusetts. PREFACE.
The following pages are designed to afford the means of ready access to the more prominent events and interesting localities connected with the landing of the Pilgrims to which the attention of visitors is naturally directed on their first arrival at Plymouth.
Under the different heads, as arragned in the Index, (pp. vii. and viii.) full descriptions will be found of Forefather's Rock, the Ship Mayflower, Burrying Hill, Leyden Street, Cole's Hill, Clark's Island, Pilgrim Hall, and other points of antiquarian interest, which, with the aid of a lithographic map of Plymouth Village, having explanatory references appended, and seven copperplate engravings, tending to illustrate the very age and body of the time, it is believed
will, in some good measure, answer the inquiries of the visitor, and accomplish the object aimed at in this publication.
The undersigned improves the present occasion, to inform the numerous friends who have expressed their interest in a proposed second edition of the Guide to Plymouth and Recollections of the Pilgrims,' that the same is in progress, and will appear whenever the requisite time can be spared from the claims of other duties, to insure its satisfactory completion.
WM. S. RUSSELL. Plymouth, August, 1851.