Графични страници
PDF файл
ePub

this board. This was the method of control of the university until the creation of the present State board of regents in July, 1915.

By the terms of the enabling act admitting the Territory to statehood, Congress granted the university 72 sections (46,080 acres) of public lands which had been reserved for university purposes in an act of February 18, 1881, and in addition thereto apportioned to it 40,000 acres of the 500,000 acres given to the State in lieu of grants provided in the acts of September 4, 1841, and September 28, 1850. The school of mines was granted 40,000 acres. Thus the total grant of land to the university through the enabling act was 86,080 acres, and the grand total to the university and the school of mines was 126,080 acres. Of this amount, by July, 1910, 89,567.82 acres had been sold for $1,163,324.26, and the portion paid in had been invested in such a way that, together with the interest at 6 per cent on unpaid land contracts and rentals and hay permits on unsold lands, it yielded an annual income of $65,026.09.1

Chapter 40 of the Special Session Laws of 1883 provided for a special annual appropriation of one-tenth of 1 mill for the support of the university. This appropriation was subsequently changed, as follows: In the Revised Code of 1899, two-fifths of 1 mill; in the Session Laws of 1907, thirty-three one-hundredths of 1 mill; in the Session Laws of 1913, two-fifths of 1 mill; in the Session Laws of 1915, a fixed sum, $102,720, was appropriated in lieu of the university's portion of the millage tax.

In the biennial period 1915 and 1916 the total income of the university from all sources and for all purposes, including the State public health laboratory and its branches, the mining substation, the biological station, and the geological survey, amounted to $400,743.55, of which $270,760 is classed as “educational." 2

The growth of the university, like that of the State, has been rapid and sure.

As already stated, the first faculty consisted of only 4 members, and only 79 students, all below college grade, were enrolled the first year; but during the first seven years of the life of the school the faculty increased to 13 and the student enrollment to 151. In 1915-16 the faculty contained a total of 168 members and the total enrollment of students was 1,241, of whom 675 were regular college students in residence. Of these, only a very few had entered with less than 15 units and none with less than 14. It is, however, quite evident that the influence of the university has not yet reached all parts of the State as it should. (See map, fig. 8, showing distribution of resident students.)

1 See Report of the Temporary Educational Commission to the Governor and Legislature of the State of North Dakota, Dec. 27, 1912, pp. 31 and 32.

? See Appendix VIII, Table 48.

CAMPUS AND BUILDINGS.

The material growth of the university has, to some extent at least, kept pace with the increase in faculty and students, and the consequent demand for room and equipment. To the original small campus additions have been made by purchase and gift until it now contains about 120 acres. A dormitory for men was built in 1883, and a dormitory for women was authorized in 1887 and erected in

[graphic][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors][ocr errors][ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors]

Fig. 8.—Distribution of resident students enrolled in the University of North Dakota, at

Grand Forks, exclusive of summer sessions, 1914–15. (See Table 31, p. 136.)

The figures above the county name in each case give the population in 1910. At that date the population of Golden Valley County (later divided into Golden Valley, Billings, and Slope Counties) was 10,186 ; and the population of Morton County (later subdivided into Morton and Sioux Counties) was 25,289.

The figures inclosed in the circle in each case indicate the number of students from the county who are enrolled at the university.

This institution drew 583 students from 42 of the 52 counties in North Dakota (of whom 33.2 per cent came from Grand Forks County), and 104 from without the State ; total, 687.

In 1910 the population of North Dakota was 577,056. Approximately 60 per cent of the population was found in that portion of the State located east of the western boundary lines of the Counties of Rolette, Pierce, Wells, Kidder, Logan, and McIntosh, which divide the State into two nearly equal parts, and 40 per cent was found in the portion west of this line; whereas, of the 583 North Dakota students in residence at the university, approximately 78 per cent came from the territory east of the line indi. cated, and only about 22 per cent from west of this line.

1889. On the campus at present are: Merrifield Hall, in which are located administration offices, study and recitation rooms, etc.; Science Hall, in which are located the departments of geology and mineralogy, physics, and biology, including special work of the school of medicine; the Mechanical Engineering Building, in which are located machine and forge shops, foundry, mechanical laboratory, woodworking shop, machine drawing, drafting and class rooms, library and offices; the Mining Engineering Building, devoted to the technical work of the college of mining engineering and to the university museum; Woodworth Hall, which houses the school of education, the model high school, and associated work; the Carnegie Library; the Gymnasium and Assembly Hall; the Commons Building; Davis Hall, a dormitory for women with rooms for the Women's League, literary societies, and amusement; Macnie Hall, a dormitory for women; Budge Hall, a dormitory for men; the president's house; and a power house containing central heating and lighting plants.

There is already need for other buildings, and as the work and attendance of the university grow still others will be needed. Here, as elsewhere, it is very important that all buildings should be located and erected after a definite plan, and that they should be built for permanency and with the future development of the institution in mind.

The library of the university, which contained less than 1,000 volumes the first year of the opening of the university, had grown by gift and purchase to 8,000 volumes in 1902, 30,000 volumes and pamphlets in 1908, and 55,843 volumes, including the 8,612 volumes of the law library, in 1916. It is added to at the rate of about 2,500 volumes annually. The Scandinavian collection of more than 3,500 volumes and the James J. Hill railway transportation collection are of special interest. Departmental libraries of biology and medicine, geology, physics, mechanical engineering, civil engineering, mining engineering, and chemistry are installed in the buildings with these departments.

There are laboratories for the biological department and the school of medicine; the public health laboratory; chemical, metallurgical, and mining laboratories; geological, mineralogical, and physical laboratories; mechanical engineering shops and laboratories; and surveying laboratories, all of which are constantly replenished with new apparatus. The university museum contains material for work in geology, zoology, and botany.

For the care of the sick, one room with bath is set aside in each residence hall, and a trained nurse maintains office hours daily. The hospitals of Grand Forks are also easily accessible, but, as the school grows, there will probably be need for a special building for an infirmary on the grounds.

DEPARTMENTS AND COURSES OF STUDY.

The few courses in philosophy, science, and language offered to students below college grade in 1884 have expanded until the catalogue of the university for 1915–16 lists the following colleges, schools, and divisions :

A. The College of Liberal Arts.
B. The Division of Education:

The School of Education.

The Model High School.
C. The School of Law (1900).
D. The Division of Engineering:

The College of Mining Engineering (The School of Mines) (1900).
The College of Mechanical and Electrical Engineering (1900).

The Course in Civil Engineering (1913).
E. The Division of Medicine:

The School of Medicine.
The Course for Nurses.

The Public Health Laboratory.
F. The Graduate Department.
G. The Summer Session.
H. The Extension Division :

The Bureau of Educational Cooperation.

The Bureau of Public Service. In these departments more than 700 courses were offered in the announcement for 1915-16, exclusive of the model high school and the summer session. These courses, except for the division of medicine, the school of law, and the graduate department, are summarized briefly as follows:

In the College of Liberal Arts, astronomy, bacteriology and hygiene, biology (botany and zoology), ceramics, chemistry, commercial subjects, economics and political science, education, English language and literature, art and design, music, geology, German language and literature, Greek language and literature, history, home economics, Latin language and literature, law, library science, manual training and mechanical drawing, mathematics, metallurgy and industrial chemistry, philosophy and psychology, physical education, physics, physiology, French language and literature, Spanish language and literature, Italian language and literature, Scandinavian languages and literatures, sociology.

In the School of Education, special courses for the training of teachers in biology, chemistry, commercial subjects, arts and design, domestic science and art, English, French, German, history and civics, Latin, manual training, mathematics, music, physics, physiography, supervision and administration.

In the Law School, all the usual subjects of a first-class legal curriculum.

In the School of Medicine, in addition to the premedical subjects prescribed for the first two years, courses are given in the professional subjects of anatomy, general and special pathology, organic chemistry, embryology, advanced physiology, pharmacology, materia medica, physical diagnosis, surgery, hygiene and sanitation, dietetics, principles of nursing, hospital economics.

In the School of Mines, metallurgy, ore treatment and milling, industrial chemistry, building materials and masonry, mining engineering.

In the School of Mechanical and Electrical Engineering, descriptive geometry, mechanical drawing, shopwork, bridge design, sanitary engineering, mechanical engineering, electrical engineering.

46136°—Bull. 27—17-3

In the Course in Civil Engineering, surveying, hydraulics, municipal engineering, water supplies.

In addition to the extramural work of the extension division through the bureau of educational cooperation and the bureau of public service, as stated elsewhere, the university also has under its immediate direction the public health laboratory at Grand Forks and its branches at Bismarck and Minot, the biological station at Devils Lake, the mining substation at Hebron, the State geological survey, the United States weather bureau at Grand Forks, and the bureau of public accountancy.

That the expansion of the work of the university has been affected by the growth of the State, and that the university has endeavored to meet all demands as they have risen, is shown by the number of additions made within the last seven years, since the inauguration of the present president years that have also been years of rapid growth and development for the State. Among the additions are the following: 1909. The mining station at Hebron and the biological station at Devils Lake

established.

The university quarterly journal established. 1910. A director of music appointed.

A department of ceramics established.
Courses for nurses inaugurated and a university nurse appointed.
Branches of public health laboratory established at Bismarck and Minot.
Medical school faculty enlarged.
University extension division organized.

Federal support obtained for weather bureau. 1911. Course in home economics inaugurated.

Course in art and design inaugurated.
Law course extended from two years to three years.

College section of summer session established. 1913. Course in civil engineering established.

In the meantime the preparatory school has been separated from the university and made into a model high school and practice school for the school of education, the graduate department has been developed, a five-year course in engineering has been inaugurated, fellowships and scholarships established, all faculties have been enlarged, material equipment of buildings and laboratories have been added to extensively, and plans for future development have been outlined. The chief danger has been that in the enthusiasm of youth and through the very laudable desire to respond to all demands of a new and growing State, new courses, divisions, and departments would be provided before the demands were sufficient to justify the expense and to the detriment of other work for which there was greater need. It is not the opinion of the survey commission that any of these should now be abandoned except possibly some minor divisions of specialized subjects for which there will probably not be much

« ПредишнаНапред »